Saint Rose's Haag to Attend Jefferson Award Ceremony

Saint Rose's Haag to Attend Jefferson Award Ceremony


For Immediate Release

April 5, 2012

Courtesy of the Saint Rose Athletics Communications Staff

Albany, N.Y.Karen Haag, head women's basketball coach at The College of Saint Rose, has been selected to represent the Capital Region at the National Jefferson Awards Ceremony in Washington, D.C. this June.

Haag was among six Capital Region residents who advanced to the medalist level for the 2012 Jefferson Awards that honor local public service across the country. She was nominated for the honor by Deborah Chesky, the two are pictured together, the College's Director of Corporate, Foundation and Government Relations.

The Jefferson Awards were founded by Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, U.S. Senator Robert Taft, Jr., and Sam Beard in 1972 as a call to action for volunteers. The awards were named in honor of Thomas Jefferson because the founders believed that he best reflected the spirit of excellence in America.

The six medalists were chosen from 15 area finalists who have given their time and energy, and used their expertise to help enhance the lives of others. All 15 finalists were honored at a dinner Tuesday evening at the Century House that was sponsored by St. Peter's Health Partners, News Channel 13 and the Albany Times Union. Pastor Charlie Muller of Albany's Victory Christian Church delivered a keynote address. News Channel 13 anchor Benita Zahn served as host of the ceremony.

Haag, who is in her 11th year at Saint Rose, is one of three founders of Camp Bravehearts along with Joyce Chulock and Lori Walsh. The three met at a local support group after Haag was diagnosed herself with cancer in 1999. Camp Bravehearts is a series of retreat programs that affords participants an opportunity to learn new skills, increase self-esteem and confidence, and help address the risks and fears that many women face during and after treatment.

Haag has also been involved with "Coaches vs. Cancer" for the American Cancer Society. In 2008, Haag received the Make a Difference Award from the Susan G. Komen Foundation, an honor that is given once per-year to an outstanding individual who has made a difference in the lives of individuals facing breast cancer.