NE-10 Cross Country All-Conference Teams and Award Winners Announced

NE-10 Cross Country All-Conference Teams and Award Winners Announced


October 26, 2016

Borofski, Kipkosgei Named NE-10 XC Athletes of the Year

MANSFIELD, Mass. – The NE-10 recognized its cross country all-conference teams and major award winners on Wednesday. Stonehill's Nicole Borofski repeated as NE-10 Women's Athlete of the Year, while American International's Leakey Kipkosgei was named NE-10 Men's Athlete of the Year.

For a complete list of award winners, as well as all-conference selections, which are based on the student-athletes' finish at the league championships, please see below.

Borofski was tabbed as the league's top women's runner after winning the 6K race with a record time of 21:26.2 to help Stonehill capture the NE-10 women's title on Saturday, adding to her already impressive collection of hardware. The individual champion for the second consecutive year, Borofski earned all-conference honors for the fourth straight year, including a third consecutive first-team nod. She was also the conference's Rookie of the Year in 2013.

Kipkosgei, last season's NE-10 Men's Rookie of the Year and individual runner-up, picked up top men's runner honors this season after leading AIC to the NE-10 men's crown by winning the 8K race on Saturday with a time of 24:35.4, the 11th-fastest 8K time in conference championship history. It is the third consecutive NE-10 Athlete of the Year award for Kipkosgei after earning the honor during both the indoor and outdoor track & field seasons as well.

Stonehill's Danika Wayss was tabbed as the NE-10 Women's Rookie of the Year after a strong freshman season and impressive performance at Saturday's championships. Wayss collected second team all-conference accolades as well after posting a 14th place finish at 22:56.9 on Saturday.

Franklin Pierce's Aidan Gilbride earned NE-10 Men's Rookie of the Year after finishing as the top male freshman runner at the NE-10 Championships. Gilbride, who earned a spot on the All-Conference Second Team, finished Saturday's 8K race in 13th with a time of 25:48.3.

Karen Boen was recognized as the NE-10 Women's Coach of the Year for a league-record 14th time after leading Stonehill's women's team to its 15th conference title. It was the sixth straight cross country coach of the year award for Boen and eighth consecutive women's title for the Skyhawks.

Leo Mayo garnered NE-10 Men's Coach of the Year after guiding American International to its third straight men's title on Saturday, as the Yellow Jackets finished with five runners in the top 10. It was Mayo's third consecutive cross country coach of the year honor.

Stonehill led the way on the women's side with seven all-conference selections, while AIC and Assumption each had three. AIC had the most men's all-conference honorees with six, followed by Stonehill with four and Franklin Pierce with three.

2016 NE-10 Cross Country All-Conference
Men's First Team
Leakey Kipkosgei, American International
Nacho Hernando-Angulo, Southern New Hampshire
Mitchell Byrne, American International
Phil Harris, Merrimack
Kemani Hume, American International
Dage Minors, Franklin Pierce
Lucas Taxter, Stonehill 

Women's First Team
Nicole Borofski, Stonehill
Natasha Fitzpatrick, Southern Connecticut
Pascaline Jerotich, American International
Julia Morena, Bentley
Antonia Pagliuca, Assumption
Alexandra Buonfiglio, Stonehill
Laura O'Hanlon, Southern New Hampshire 

Men's Second Team
Nick Green, American International          
Graham Chapski, Bentley    
Jacob Boatman, American International
Riley Dowd, Stonehill
Tyler McLaren, Southern New Hampshire
Aidan Gilbride, Franklin Pierce
Michael Durkin, Stonehill 

Women's Second Team
Michelle Lujan, Saint Rose
Ivy Chepyegon, American International
Anna Lastra, Stonehill
Elizabeth Hannon, Stonehill
Mackenzie Cyr, Stonehill
Courtney Fisher, Assumption
Danika Wayss, Stonehill

Men's Third Team
BJ Smith, Franklin Pierce
Siem Mehretu, American International
Sean Beney, Le Moyne
Rastafari Morgan, Saint Rose
Alex Demeule, Stonehill
Keith Steinbrecher, Merrimack
Michael Grady, Adelphi 

Women's Third Team
Aisha McAdams, Stonehill
Grace Gothers, Southern Connecticut
Jacqueline Ryan, Assumption
Iman Dumas, American International
Mariah Jno-Charles, Pace    
Nicole Maliborska, New Haven      
Jeanette Cudney, Le Moyne 

Men's Athlete of the Year – Leakey Kipkosgei, American International
Women's Athlete of the Year – Nicole Borofski, Stonehill
Men's Rookie of the Year – Aidan Gilbride, Franklin Pierce
Women's Rookie of the Year – Danika Wayss, Stonehill
Men's Coach of the Year – Leo Mayo, American International
Women's Coach of the Year – Karen Boen, Stonehill 

*All-conference selections based on order of finish at NE-10 Championships

The Northeast-10 Conference is an association of 15 NCAA Division II colleges and universities located in New England and New York that is committed to supporting balanced academic and athletic opportunities for more than 6,500 student-athletes. 

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE-10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the Northeast-10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.