Embrace the Victory: Saint Anselm, Le Moyne Claim Top Spots in NE10 Men's Basketball Championship

Embrace the Victory: Saint Anselm, Le Moyne Claim Top Spots in NE10 Men's Basketball Championship


Hawks, Dolphins Enter NE10 Championship as Top Seeds.

MANSFIELD, Mass. - Saint Anselm and Le Moyne have earned the top seeds in the 2019 Northeast 10 Men's Basketball Championship, as announced by the conference office on Tuesday night following the conclusion of regular-season action. The Hawks and Dolphins each won their respective divisions for the second-straight season and will enter the Championship as No. 1 seeds. 

For the complete schedule of games for the 2019 Championship, please see below. All games will be broadcast live on NE10NOW.tv. Be sure to follow the NE10 on Twitter (@TheNortheast10) for all the latest news and updates.

No. 18 Saint Anselm finished the season with five-straight wins, tallying a 22-4 record with an 18-3 mark in conference play. The Hawks win the Northeast Division for the second-straight year and will host a Sunday quarterfinal against the winner of the No. 4 SW Southern Connecticut - No. 5 NE Stonehill game. 

Le Moyne won the Southwest Division outright on the final night of the regular season, picking up a tough 57-56 win on the road at New Haven to finish the regular season with a 17-8 mark and 14-6 record in NE10 action. The Dolphins won nine of their final 10 games. In Sunday's quarterfinal round, Le Moyne will host the winner of the No. 4 NE Franklin Pierce - No. 5 SW Pace contest.

The semifinal round will take place on Wednesday, March 6, with higher seeds hosting. The 2019 NE10 Championship Game will be played on Saturday, March 9, and will be hosted by the highest remaining seed. 

Northeast Division:
1. Saint Anselm (18-3)
2. Merrimack (14-7)
3. Bentley (12-9)
4. Franklin Pierce (11-10)
5. Stonehill (8-13) *
* Stonehill and SNHU both finished with an 8-13 record, and they split their season series 1-1. Both teams were 0-2 vs. Saint Anselm. Stonehill earned the #5 seed based on a 1-1 record vs. Merrimack (SNHU was 0-2 vs. Merrimack).
Southwest Division:
1. Le Moyne (14-6) 
2. New Haven (13-7) **
3. Adelphi (13-7) **
4. Southern Connecticut (12-8)
5. Pace (9-11)
                ** Adelphi and New Haven split their season series 1-1. Both teams were 0-2 vs. Le Moyne. New Haven earned the #2 seed based on their 2-0 record vs. SCSU (Adelphi was 1-1 vs. SCSU).
First Round ­ Friday, March 1st:
Game 1:  Pace (No. 5 seed SW) at Franklin Pierce (No. 4 seed NE) – 7:00 PM
Game 2:  Stonehill (No. 5 seed NE) at Southern Connecticut (No. 4 seed SW) – 7:00 PM
Quarterfinals ­ Sunday, March 3rd:
Game 3:  Game 1 winner at Le Moyne (No. 1 seed SW) – 4:00 PM
Game 4:  Game 2 winner at Saint Anselm (No. 1 seed NE) – 3:00 PM
Game 5:  Bentley (No. 3 seed NE) at New Haven (No. 2 seed SW) – 3:00 PM
Game 6:  Adelphi (No. 3 seed SW) at Merrimack (No. 2 seed NE) – 3:00 PM

Semifinals ­ Wednesday, March 6th (at highest seeds remaining):
Game 7: Game 6 winner vs. Game 3 winner (7:00 PM)
Game 8: Game 5 winner vs. Game 4 winner (7:00 PM)
Championship ­ Saturday, March 9th (at highest seed remaining):
Game 9:  Game 8 winner vs. Game 7 winner (1:00 PM)

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete.

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.