Saint Anselm's Tim Guers Named NE10 Player of the Year, as Men's Basketball Awards Announced

Saint Anselm's Tim Guers Named NE10 Player of the Year, as Men's Basketball Awards Announced


Second-Straight Player of the Year Honor for Guers.

MANSFIELD, Mass. - For the second-straight year, Saint Anselm senior guard Tim Guers has won Northeast 10 Conference Men’s Basketball Player of the Year honors for his sensational play – becoming the seventh all-time NE10 player to earn the award on multiple occasions -  as announced by the league office on Tuesday afternoon.

All 15 NE10 member institutions had at least one player earn All-Conference recognition, with Northeast Division champion Saint Anselm, Southwest Division champion Le Moyne and No. 2 seed in the Southwest Division New Haven leading the way with three selections each. Eight different schools had multiple selections, as chosen by a vote of the league’s head coaches.

Guers, now a three-time First Team All-Conference selection, was the leader for No. 18 Saint Anselm this season as an all-around threat – averaging 21.7 points, 7.3 rebounds and 5.5 assists per game. The Hawks clinched the No. 1 seed in the Northeast Division in the NE10 Championship behind Guers, who scored 20 or more points in 18 games this season. He was a unanimous selection as the league’s Player of the Year.

Joining Guers on the All-Conference First team is Bentley’s Ryan Richmond, Merrimack’s Juvaris Hayes, New Haven’s Elijah Bailey, Southern Connecticut’s Isaiah McLeod and Southern New Hampshire’s Daquaise Andrews.

Hayes, who is coming off a sensational 46-point performance in the NE10 quarterfinals on Sunday, has been named Defensive Player of the Year. The quick-handed guard has a 4.1 steals per game average, which is more than double the amount of the next closest player in the NE10, and first in all of Division II in the category. He also ranks in the top 10 of the NE10 in points (19.4) and field goal percentage (53.4).

Adelphi’s Ronnie Silva, a six-time NE10 Rookie of the Week, ran away with the league’s Rookie of the Year award after leading the Panthers with 15.1 points per game. Silva shot 47-percent from the field in his first collegiate season, while scoring in double-figures on 23 occasions and with 20 or more points eight different times. He was also selected for the All-Rookie Team.

Saint Anselm head coach Keith Dickson, in his 33rd season at the helm for the Hawks, was voted as the NE10 Coach of the Year – the fifth time he has won the honor and first time since the 2012-13 season. Dickson led the Hawks to another Northeast Division crown, while staying in the NABC Top 25 Poll all season long. The Hawks finished the regular season with a 22-4 record, including an 18-3 mark in league play.

Three of Dickson’s players were honored in Tuesday’s selections – including Guers as Player of the Year and on the First Team, Cody Ball on the Second Team and Chris Paul on the Honorable Mentions list.

For a full list of honorees, please see the list below.

Player of the Year: Tim Guers, Saint Anselm

Defensive Player of the Year: Juvaris Hayes, Merrimack

Rookie of the Year: Ronnie Silva, Adelphi

Coach of the Year: Keith Dickson, Saint Anselm


All-Conference – First Team

Ryan Richmond, Bentley

Juvaris Hayes, Merrimack

Elijah Bailey, New Haven

Tim Guers, Saint Anselm

Isaiah McLeod, So. Connecticut

Daquaise Andrews, So. New Hampshire


All-Conference – Second Team

Doyin Fadojutimi, Franklin Pierce

Kobi Nwandu, Le Moyne

Cody Ball, Saint Anselm

Levi Holmes III, Saint Michael’s

Will Moreton, Stonehill


All-Conference – Third Team

Conor Mcguinness, Adelphi

Chris Hudson, Bentley

Ryan Boulter, Merrimack

Peyton Wejnert, Pace

Kealan Ives, So. Connecticut


Honorable Mention

Ronnie Silva, Adelphi

Matthew Kelly, Assumption

C.J. Asuncion-Byrd, Le Moyne

Tom Brown, Le Moyne

Derrick Rowland, New Haven

Chris Paul, Saint Anselm


All-Rookie Team

Ronnie Silva, Adelphi

Isaiah Salter, American Int’l

Isaiah Moore, Franklin Pierce

Quashawn Lane, New Haven

Sekou Sylla, Saint Rose


The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete.

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.