SNHU's Fernandes Earns Third-Straight Player of the Year, as NE10 Announces Men's Tennis Awards

SNHU's Fernandes Earns Third-Straight Player of the Year, as NE10 Announces Men's Tennis Awards


Penmen Lead the Way, Sweeping NE10 Major Awards.

MANSFIELD, Mass. – For the third-straight season, Southern New Hampshire’s Tiago Fernandes has earned the title of Vern Cox Men’s Tennis Player of the Year – following his perfect 9-0 record at No. 1 singles during Northeast 10 Conference play – as the league office announced major awards and all-conference teams on Tuesday.

For a complete list of award winners, please see below. Remarkably, not only did SNHU sweep the major awards, but also had players at every spot of the All-Conference First Team. SNHU and Merrimack led the league with six selections to All-Conference Teams.

Each of SNHU’s players that were named to the First Team – Fernandes, Willem van Biezen, Emmanuel Vacalares, Bas van Biezen, Miguel Marreiros and Fernando Torres – were double selections, earning both singles and doubles recognition.

Fernandes went 9-0 against top NE10 competition all season long, earning his third-consecutive Player of the Year Award and landing on the First Team as a No. 1 singles and No. 3 doubles player. He helped lead the Penmen to their fourth-straight NE10 regular-season title, as they prepare to host a semifinal match on Thursday.

Vacalares also had a spectacular year for SNHU – going 6-1 at No. 3 singles and 8-1 overall in singles action to be named NE10 Rookie of the Year. He recorded a perfect 2-0 record at second-flight singles to give him a 0.889 winning percentage in nine league matches. In addition, he was named First Team at No. 3 singles and doubles, while also landing on the All-Rookie Team.

SNHU’s Greg Coache was voted NE10 Coach of the Year after leading the Penmen to their fourth-straight regular-season title. Coache’s team went a perfect 9-0 in NE10 play for the fourth-consecutive year, earning the No. 1 seed in the NE10 Championship – which begins Tuesday with First Round action.

The Vern Cox Player of the Year Award is named in honor of former longtime Springfield College head coach Vern Cox.

NE10 Men's Tennis All-Conference Awards

Vern Cox Player of the Year

Tiago Fernandes, SNHU

Rookie of the Year

Emmanuel Vacalares, SNHU

Coach of the Year

Greg Coache, SNHU

First Team

No. 1 Singles – Tiago Fernandes, SNHU

No. 2 Singles – Willem van Biezen, SNHU

No. 3 Singles – Emmanuel Vacalares, SNHU

No. 4 Singles – Connor Aulson (Bentley)/Bas van Biezen (SNHU)

No. 5 Singles – Miguel Marreiros, SNHU

No. 6 Singles – Fernando Torres, SNHU

No. 1 Doubles – Willem van Biezen/Bas van Biezen, SNHU

No. 2 Doubles – Miguel Marreiros/Fernando Torres, SNHU

No. 3 Doubles – Tiago Fernandes/Emmanuel Vacalares, SNHU

Second Team

No. 1 Singles – Roberto Chong, Franklin Pierce

No. 2 Singles – Daniel Weitz (Bentley)/Philip Blythe (Le Moyne)/Jonathan Garcia (Merrimack)

No. 3 Singles – Andres Hernandez, Le Moyne

No. 4 Singles – Conrad Koch, Merrimack

No. 5 Singles – Alexander Novins, Bentley

No. 6 Singles – Sven Gopfrich, Le Moyne

No. 1 Doubles – Philip Blythe/Tom Jarry (Le Moyne), Denis Davydov/Conrad Koch (Merrimack)

No. 2 Doubles – Alex Fedorov/Jonathan Garcia, Merrimack

No. 3 Doubles – Alec Mackay Rodriguez/Marshall Wood, Merrimack

Third Team

No. 1 Singles – Tom Jarry, Le Moyne

No. 2 Singles – Preston Gordon, Franklin Pierce

No. 3 Singles – Alex Fedorov, Merrimack

No. 4 Singles – Yuval Barak, Franklin Pierce

No. 5 Singles –Alec Mackay Rodriguez, Merrimack

No. 6 Singles – Aaron Diamond, Stonehill

No. 1 Doubles – Trent Newman/Samuel Miller, Stonehill

No. 2 Doubles – Luke Attride-Stirling/David Robres de Veciana, Adelphi

No. 3 Doubles – James Bisazza/Andrew Schadt, Franklin Pierce

All-Rookie Team

Alexander Novins, Bentley

Mauricio Fadul Rubod, Bentley

Preston Gordon, Franklin Pierce

Nkrumah Patrick, Franklin Pierce

Jonathan Garcia, Merrimack

Alec Mackay Rodriguez, Merrimack

Conrad Koch, Merrimack

Marshal Wood, Merrimack

Fernando Torres, SNHU

Emmanuel Vacalares, SNHU

Juan Camilo Rojas, Stonehill

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.