Le Moyne's Taft, Merrimack's Porricelli Named NE10 Baseball Co-Players of the Year; All-Conference Teams Announced

Le Moyne's Taft, Merrimack's Porricelli Named NE10 Baseball Co-Players of the Year; All-Conference Teams Announced


Adelphi Takes a Pair of Major Awards and Seven Selections Overall.

MANSFIELD, Mass. – Le Moyne’s Andrew Taft and Merrimack’s Joey Porricelli have been selected Northeast 10 Conference Baseball Co-Players of the Year, as the league announced its major awards and all-conference teams on Wednesday morning. The awards are voted on by the league’s 15 head coaches following the completion of the regular season.

For a complete list of honorees, please see below. Adelphi, the No. 6 ranked team in the latest NCBWA Poll, garnered a pair of major awards and seven all-conference selections – tied with Merrimack for second-most in the league. Southern Connecticut had an NE10-best eight players earn all-conference status.

Taft had another dynamic season for the Dolphins, on his way to Co-Player of the Year and First Team All-Conference honors. He led the league in home runs (13), ranked second in RBI (42) and 10th in batting average (.335). Taft ranks in the top 10 of nearly every offensive category, including his league-leading .613 slugging percentage. Le Moyne upset Pace in the NE10 quarterfinals on Tuesday and will host championship weekend beginning on Thursday.

Porricelli, a First Team selection at third base, had a terrific season the Warriors – accounting for eight home runs, 37 RBI, .319 batting average and a league-high 32 stolen bases. He recorded 60 hits during the season, which is fifth-most in the league, including 11 doubles and five triples. He joins Taft as Co-Player of the Year and looks to help Merrimack defend its 2018 NE10 Championship this weekend in Syracuse.

Adelphi’s Ed Baram was as solid as any pitcher on the mound this season in all of Division II, on his way to being named NE10 Pitcher of the Year. He was 5-1 in conference play with a 1.50 ERA and a 43-10 strikeout-to-walk ratio. Following Tuesday’s quarterfinal loss to SCSU, Baram’s overall ERA of 1.19 is still the best in the league and in the country. He is also a First Team selection as a starting pitcher.

Stonehill’s Aidan Wilde earned Rookie Hitter of the Year and SCSU’s Brandon White was named Rookie Pitcher of the Year, as the duo made the most of their inaugural seasons in the NE10. Wilde hit .313 at the plate and recorded a .433 on-base percentage – ninth-best in the league – while racking up 50 hits and 21 RBI for the Skyhawks. White’s 3.39 ERA on the mound was good for 22nd among NE10 pitchers, while he allowed opposing hitters just a .237 batting average. He made nine appearances, six of which came in conference play, and accumulated 53.1 innings. Both Wilde and White were also named to the All-Rookie Team.

Adelphi’s Dom Scala was selected as Coach of the Year, following a remarkable regular-season for the Panthers – who currently are ranked No. 6 in the nation. Adelphi earned the Southwest Division crown with a 15-2-1 divisional record and it did not lose a game in April – going an incredible 18-0-1 in the month. The Panthers were upset in the NE10 quarterfinals on Tuesday and await to see their NCAA Tournament status on Sunday night.

2019 NE10 Baseball All-Conference Awards

Co-Players of the Year

Andrew Taft, Le Moyne

Joey Porricelli, Merrimack

Pitcher of the Year

Ed Baram, Adelphi

Rookie Hitter of the Year

Aidan Wilde, Stonehill

Rookie Pitcher of the Year

Brandon White, SCSU

Bob Belizzi Coach of the Year

Dom Scala, Adelphi


First Team

C – Camillo Spinoso, Le Moyne %

1B – Andrew Taft, Le Moyne &

2B – Michael Salmonese, Pace

SS – Jim Palmer, SCSU

3B – Joey Porricelli, Merrimack #

OF – Max Troiani, Bentley #

OF – Brad Roberto, Franklin Pierce %

OF – Matt Chamberlain, New Haven

OF – Nick Lamberti, SCSU #

DH – Tyler Criscuolo, SCSU

UT – Brett Malm, Adelphi

SP – Ed Baram, Adelphi

SP – Cam Monagle, Merrimack

SP – Dan Wirchansky, Pace &

SP – Jake Walkinshaw, SNHU %

RP – Jeffrey Praml, SNHU ^

Second Team

C – Ural Forbes, Franklin Pierce

1B – Harrison Sabo, Stonehill #

2B – Mike Samko, Bentley &

SS – Nick Shumski, Merrimack

3B – Connor Redahan, SCSU

OF – Jonathan Iadevaia, Adelphi

OF – Brandon Morse, Adelphi

OF – Luke Figueira, Bentley

OF – Justin Tuey, Le Moyne

DH – Lawrence Cicileo, Adelphi

UT – Sam Henrie, SNHU

SP – Derek Duffy, Franklin Pierce

SP – Timmy Kalantzakos, Merrimack

SP – Wesley Tobin, SNHU

SP – Michael Young, Stonehill

RP – Tom Ambrosino, Adelphi

Third Team

C – Mike DeMartino, SCSU

1B – Nicolas Teitter, Saint Rose

2B – Joshua Goldstein, SNHU #

SS – Nick Nevins, Le Moyne

3B – Dean DePreta, Pace

OF – Josh Aviles, AIC

OF – R.J. Libby, Assumption

OF – Matthew Ronai, Merrimack &

OF – William Kelleher, Stonehill

DH – Ryan Berardino, Bentley #

UT – Brandon Grover, Bentley &

SP – Cole Chudoba, Assumption

SP – Zach Hart, Franklin Pierce &

SP – Thomas Ippolito, Pace

SP – Brandon White, SCSU

RP – Jacob Maser, Le Moyne

All-Rookie Team

Kyle Olson, Adelphi

Jay Chiappetta, AIC

Cam Defeo, AIC

Patrick Harrington, Assumption

Danny Gracia, Franklin Pierce

Jethro Hurt, Franklin Pierce

Jacob Maser, Le Moyne

Nick Nevins, Le Moyne

Michael Golankiewicz, Merrimack

Kurtis Stadnicki, Merrimack

Noah Budzik, New Haven

Michael Roll, Pace

Tyler Osborne, Saint Rose

Mike Ferrett, SCSU

Jared Henry, SCSU

Brandon White, SCSU

Alex Kennedy, SNHU

Matt Donlan, Stonehill

Noah Lucier, Stonehill

Aidan Wilde, Stonehill

& - First Team Selection in 2018

% - Second Team Selection in 2018

# - Third Team Selection in 2018

^ - All-Rookie Team Selection in 2018

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete.

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.