NE10 Wraps Up 2018-19 with Annual Meetings, Appoints New Chairs

ne10 meetings release

MANSFIELD, Mass. – The 2019 Northeast-10 Conference Summer Meetings concluded last month in Springfield, Mass. after various Councils within the NE10 governance structure acted on competitive, administrative and strategic initiatives during the three-day event.

The meetings brought together institutional presidents, vice presidents, athletic directors, faculty representatives, senior woman administrators, communications directors, sports medicine staffs, student-athletes, league staff members and other special guests. 

"Our meetings were filled with energy for what's ahead as we embark on the first full year of activating our new NE10 Strategic Vision. The shared time together provided a great opportunity for our Conference leadership, campus administrators and NE10 staff to strategize on the initiatives we have in front of us while also celebrating the recently completed year," said NE10 Commissioner Julie Ruppert. "The NE10 remains sharply focused on our vision to embrace a distinctive culture of academic and athletics excellence." 

Meeting Highlights
NE10 Presidents, Vice Presidents, Athletic Directors and Senior Woman Administrators welcomed a presentation on Effective Management of your Intercollegiate Athletics Program for College Presidents by noted sports lawyer Janet Judge, partner at Holland & Knight in Boston. 

Dr. Vince Maniaci, president at American International College, presided over his final meeting as Chair of the NE10 Council of Presidents, and will be succeeded by Dr. Francesco C. Cesareo, president at Assumption College, for the 2019-20 academic year. Dr. Alison Davis-Blake, president at Bentley University, will begin her term as chair-elect, serving as the 1st Vice Chair in 2019-20.  "The Northeast 10 Conference is defined by its commitment to ensuring each student-athlete excels in competition and, most importantly, in the classroom," said Cesareo. "I look forward to opportunities to collaborate with the leadership of other NE10 member institutions and Conference officials to enhance this commitment to excellence in my role as the chair of the NE10 Council of Presidents." 

Matt Johnson, Director of Athletics at American International also presided over his final meeting of the NE10 Athletics Council. Pace University Director of Athletics Mark Brown ascends to the Chair position for 2019-20 and will be joined by 1st Vice Chair Chris Kenny, director of athletics at Saint Michael's College and 1st Vice Chair Jay Moran, director of athletics at Southern Connecticut State.  

Commended the athletic training staffs at each NE10 member institution, recognizing their efforts that resulted in 100 percent member participation in the NCAA Injury Surveillance Program, becoming the first Division II conference to achieve that mark, illustrating the NE10's commitment to supporting data-driven decisions related to student-athlete health and well-being. 

Members of the Sports Medicine Council reviewed the recently approved NE10 Extreme Heat Policy and engaged in further work to develop an Extreme Cold Policy that is scheduled for adoption later this year for all competitions. 

The NE10 Student Athlete Advisory Council conducted its annual meeting that included several working sessions, a community service opportunity and they engaged in a 90 minute session with the NE10 Council of Presidents where they conducted proactive dialogue around campus inclusion issues and the wellness of student-athletes. A joint session with the SAAC and the FAR Council included discussions on conflict avoidance policies on campuses and issues around missed class time. 

Approved the 2019-20 NE10 Championship schedule that features 23 championship events on member campuses and neutral sites. The Council of Presidents also supported a unanimous recommendation from Athletics Council to increase the upper limits on postseason bracket size to no more than 75% of the institutions sponsoring a specific NE10 sport. The Athletics Council recommended the change, believing that the increase provides strategic flexibility for the Council to address sport-specific needs as they arise. Immediately, it also provides relief for the sport of basketball which could have seen a reduced bracket due to membership changes. 

The Council of Presidents unanimously supported the Athletics Council's recommendation to posthumously name the Conference's annual Coach of the Year award in ice hockey after the late Lance Brady, the former Assumption College head coach.

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.