Embrace The Philosophy: NE10 Names Fall Academic All-Conference Teams, Sport Excellence Award Winners

Embrace The Philosophy: NE10 Names Fall Academic All-Conference Teams, Sport Excellence Award Winners


(Written by Megan Hancock)

84 NE10 Student-Athletes Earn Academic All-Conference Honors

MANSFIELD, Mass. – The Northeast-10 Conference Academic All-Conference teams and Sport Excellence Award winners for the 2017 Fall season have been released, the conference office announced today. For a full list of honorees, please see below.

A total of 84 fall sport student-athletes collected NE10 Academic All-Conference accolades. That total represents a diverse group of student-athletes from all 15 member institutions as well as the league’s associate member - LIU-Post. Additionally, one Sport Excellence Award winner was chosen from the following seven sports: men's and women's cross country; field hockey, football, men's and women's soccer, and volleyball.

To be eligible for selection to the NE10 Academic All-Conference teams, a student-athlete must have met or exceeded the following minimum requirements: 1) participated in at least half of the team's competitions and been either a starter or significant contributor; 2) achieved a 3.30 cumulative grade point average (on a 4.0 scale); and 3) completed at least one academic year at his/her current institution.

Southern New Hampshire had the most student-athletes recognized with 11, followed by Stonehill with nine and Adelphi and Merrimack tied with eight. More than half of the league's members had at least five student-athletes recognized.

The seven Sport Excellence award winners (one in each sport) represented five different schools, with Adelphi and Stonehill being the two institutions to each have more than one.       


Senior Tyler McLaren of Southern New Hampshire was selected as the NE10 Sport Excellence award winner in the sport of Cross Country. The senior is a 3.85 student-athlete, majoring in International Business. McLaren was a First Team All-Conference selection after finishing second at the NE10 Championships this past fall.

Abby Hersom from Stonehill is a 3.97 student-athlete, majoring in Healthcare Administration. She assisted the Skyhawks Cross Country team to their 16th NE10 title in program history. She was the runner-up at the NCAA Regional Championship this fall and posted a career best-finish by placing 9th at the NE10 Championships.

Senior Kaycee Zelkovsky from LIU Post was the Sport Excellence award winner in the sport of Field Hockey. The New Jersey native has a 3.94 grade point average while majoring in English. Playing forward for the Pioneers, she tied for third in the nation in assists per game and was fourth in the NE10 in points per game. She earned 2017 Second-Team All-American honors and is a two-time All-Conference selection.

Assumption’s Jedidiah Scott was selected in the sport of Football. The senior defensive lineman is a 3.81 student, majoring in Economics. Scott started 13 games, finished the year 5th in sacks per game and was part of a defense that led the nation in turnovers and turnover margin. He helped the Greyhounds win the NE10 Championship, advance to the NCAA Quarterfinals, and finish the year ranked 9th in the nation.

Senior Adam Branco from Stonehill was selected for the prestigious honor in the sport of Men’s Soccer. The striker led the Skyhawks in goals this season and went on a two five-game point streak combining for three goals and three assists in the first part of the season and four goals and one assist in the final five games of the season. Branco is an International Business major with a 3.7 GPA winning the NE10 Commissioner’s Honor Roll as well as the Athletic Director’s Honor Roll awards.

Nicole Forte from Adelphi earned the award in women's soccer. The senior defenseman is a 3.92 student-athlete focusing on Exercise Science. Forte played and started all 19 games for the Panthers where she logged a team high 1,736 minutes, anchoring the defensive effort which ranked second in the NE10 and 43rd in the nation in goals against at 0.78. Off the field, Forte was named CoSIDA Academic All District First Team and United Soccer Coaches Scholar All-American Second Team.

Adelphi's Megan Manierski is this year’s Sport Excellence Award winner in the sport of Volleyball. The senior is a 3.924 student-athlete majoring in Psychology. Manierski appeared in 69 sets over the course of 22 matches and tallied a total of 529 assists, 54 kills and 140 digs. The CoSIDA Academic All-District selection ranked eighth in the NE10 in assists/sets with 7.67.

Men's Cross Country (8)
Mitchell Byrne, American International*
Kemani Hume, American International
Sean Beney, Le Moyne*
Chris Davitt, Le Moyne
Niall Coughlin, Merrimack
Tyler McLaren, Southern New Hampshire*
Alexander Demeule, Stonehill*
Riley Dowd, Stonehill*

Women's Cross Country (8)
Nicole Julian, Adelphi
Ivy Chepyegon, American International*
Sara Amato, Assumption
Paige Fehskens, Bentley
Katherine Ferrara, Merrimack
Nicole Maliborska, New Haven*
Abby Hersom, Stonehill*
Anna Lastra, Stonehill 

Field Hockey (16)
Jamie Ahrens, Adelphi
Elizabeth Mercuri, Adelphi
Frankie Tossona, Bentley*
Carly Canavan, Franklin Pierce*
Raegan Moulton, Franklin Pierce
Kaycee Zelkovsky, LIU Post*
Mary McNeil, Merrimack*
Katharina Ohmen, Merrimack
Delaney Yule, Merrimack
Paige Predmore, Pace*
Lesly Sanchez Alvarez, Pace*
Catherine Neyland, Saint Anselm
Jenna Deschaine, Saint Michael's*
Melanie Rennie, Southern New Hampshire*
Laura van der Doorn, Southern New Hampshire
Kacie Smith, Stonehill

Football (11)
Jedidiah Scott, Assumption

Nick Athy, Bentley
Jack Hansbury, Bentley*
Anthony Denunzio, LIU Post
Abel Joseph, LIU Post
Patrick Williams, LIU Post
Matthew Corrie, Pace
Ryne Griesnenauer, Southern Connecticut*
Vasilios Grigorakos, Southern Connecticut
Matt Foltz, Stonehill*
Donovan Phanor, Stonehill*

Men's Soccer (12)
John Stojcevski, Adelphi*
Francisco Fernandes, American International
Eric Spangler, Bentley
Hamish Cadigan, Franklin Pierce*
Noam Kolakofsky, Franklin Pierce
Mattia Lanzi, Merrimack*
Lars Sund, Merrimack 
Bradley Anair, Saint Michael's*
Romain Daniellou, Southern New Hampshire
Louka Masset, Southern New Hampshire
Michael Rowley, Southern New Hampshire
Adam Branco, Stonehill*

Women's Soccer (17)
Nicole Forte, Adelphi*
Jeanine Nunez, Adelphi*
Taylor Sipos, Adelphi
Amanda Arnold, Assumption*
Brandi McDonald, Bentley
Casey Cook, Franklin Pierce
Claire Stackel, Le Moyne
Gabrielle Guenther, Merrimack
Emily Morello, New Haven*
Drew Ribadeneyra, Pace*
Hayley Pascoal, Pace
Jessica Kaufman, Saint Anselm*
Nina Predanic, Saint Rose
Courtney Benson, Southern New Hampshire
Rianna Fasanello, Southern New Hampshire
Abigail Maker, Southern New Hampshire
Paige Salmon, Southern New Hampshire

Volleyball (12)
Megan Manierski, Adelphi*
Dolors Kopren, American International
Jana Potic, American International
Mercy Rivera, American International
Rachel Bruno, Bentley
Kendall Corcoran, Le Moyne*
Alex Bussey, New Haven*
Danielle Vaiano, Pace
Kathryn Teets, Saint Anselm
Leanna Jadus, Southern Connecticut
Marisa Coronis, Southern New Hampshire
Katherine DeLanty, Stonehill

* indicates 2016 Academic All-Conference Selection

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.