14 NE10 Programs from 10 Different Member Institutions Represented as NCAA Announces Championship Fields in Four Sports

14 NE10 Programs from 10 Different Member Institutions Represented as NCAA Announces Championship Fields in Four Sports




MANSFIELD, Mass. - 14 Northeast-10 Conference programs representing ten conference members heard their names called as the NCAA announced it's championship fields in five different sports this week. The 2017 Championship fields in the sports of Men's and Women's Cross Country, Field Hockey, and Men's and Women's Soccer all were announced on Monday.

Follow @TheNortheast10 on Twitter to keep up with all the NCAA Championship action over the next few weeks.

NCAA Cross Country

The NE10 will be extremely well-represented at the NCAA Cross Country Championships when they take place later this month in Evansville, Indiana. Both the men's and women's team from Stonehill qualified for the events which will be held on Sunday, November 18. Also qualifying was the Assumption women's team, after they claimed the East Regional title this past weekend, and the American International and Merrimack men's teams. Individually, Le Moyne's Sean Beney, Southern Connecticut's Laura Morrison, and Southern New Hampshire's Tyler McLaren all qualified as well. 


NCAA Field Hockey

Three NE10 teams, including two-time defending conference champion LIU Post, were selected to compete at the 2017 NCAA Field Hockey Championship. The Pioneer were awarded the top seed in the championship this year, as they currently stand at 18-3, having won back-to-back NE10 titles. Also, earning bids were Saint Anselm and Stonehil. The Hawks were tabbed the fourth seed in this year's event, while the Skyhawks garnered the six seed.



NCAA Men's Soccer

Once again, three was the magic number in the sport of men's soccer as a trio of NE10 programs were selected to be a part of the six-team East Regional field. Adelphi earned the No. 2 seed, followed by Merrimack at No. 3, and Southern Connecticut at No. 4. The Warriors earned the NE10's automatic bid with the NE10 Championship win on Sunday afternoon in North Andover. Adelphi will serve as one of the two host sites with the winner of the East Region to take on the winner of the Atlantic for a spot in the Final Four.

NCAA Women's Soccer

And once again, three more NE10 teams were tabbed to compete at this year's NCAA Women's Soccer Championship. NE10 regular season champion Adelphi earned the East Region's top seed and will serve as a host site for this year's championship. NE10 Champion Southern New Hampshire was seeded third and Franklin Pierce, who fell to the Penmen in the title game, earned an at-large berth in this year's field. The Penmen will take on Georgian Court in the First Round, while the Ravens will tackle LIU Post.

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete.

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.