Franklin Pierce to Sponsor Division II Football, Join NE10 Beginning in the Fall of 2019

Franklin Pierce to Sponsor Division II Football, Join NE10 Beginning in the Fall of 2019



Ravens to Become NE10's 11th Football-Playing Member

MANSFIELD, Mass. - Earlier this week, Franklin Pierce University announced plans to begin transitioning their current Sprint Football program to an NCAA Division II program. The Ravens will join the Northeast-10 Conference in the sport beginning in the Fall of 2019 and will become the 11th institution to compete in the sport in the league. 

Franklin Pierce President, Dr. Kim Mooney, made the announement Tuesday. "Moving to NCAA Division II Football is a significant step for the University, and one that makes sense, given the growing similarities to rules governing our existing Sprint Football program. In terms of eligibility and expenses, the gap between Sprint and NCAA Division II Football has never been so close. Now is the logical time for Franklin Pierce to make the transition to Division II with our Football program, allowing us to capitalize on the enhancements to our on-campus student experience which will come with such a transition."

"This is a great day for the NE10 as we welcome the addition of the Franklin Pierce University football program. I'm pleased to see FPU, under President Mooney and athletic director Rachel Burleson's leadership, recognize the value of a NCAA Division II intercollegiate football team as part of its overall institutional mission," said NE10 Commissioner Julie Ruppert.

"Further, we are encouraged by the addition of DII football by one of our core members as it assists the entire NE10 football membership with regard to scheduling and cost containment. This new annual opponent provides an additional competitive date on our league schedule without the higher cost and burden of having to travel out of region. Football in the NE10 has grown and thrived over the past 10 years and has contributed significantly to the vibrancy of our college campuses each fall. There are more than 1,000,000 high school students playing football and providing student-athletes with a New England/New York-based opportunity to participate in quality Division II football is important to us as a Conference. We warmly welcome this new Franklin Pierce program as it begins competition in 2019."

Other departmental changes at Franklin Pierce were announced as well, including:

  • Prioritizing efforts between the University and other NE10 member institutions to reclassify Women's Ice Hockey as a fully sponsored sport within the NE10
  • Increasing scholarship, operating, and staffing in Women's Ice Hockey and remaining Women's programs;
  • Transitioning Sprint Football to NCAA Division II Football beginning with a full NE10 schedule in the fall of 2019;
  • Discontinuing Men's and Women's Bowling (not currently an NE10 sport) in fall of 2018; and
  • Discontinuing Women's Swimming in fall of 2018.

Additional information for this release provided by Franklin Pierce University 

The NE10 is an association of 15 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete. 

Each year, 4,500 student-athletes compete in conference championships, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.