Adelphi's Quagliardi Earns NE10 Player of the Year, as Women's Tennis All-Conference Teams Announced

Barbie Quagliardi


 Adelphi and SNHU Lead NE10 with Four Players Each on the First Team.

MANSFIELD, Mass. – Adelphi sophomore Barbie Quagliardi has been named the 2019 Northeast-10 Conference Vern Cox Women's Tennis Player of the Year, as announced by the league office on Wednesday afternoon, in addition to its all-conference teams and other major award winners.

For a complete list of All-Conference players and award winners, please see below. Stonehill had a league-high eight players that received honors, while Adelphi, Le Moyne and Southern New Hampshire each had five.

Quagliardi, who went 9-1 at No. 1 singles this season to lead Adelphi to a share of the regular season title and the top spot in the upcoming NE10 Championship, also captured First Team All-Conference selections at No. 1 singles and doubles. The Panthers have a bye and will host a semifinal matchup on Friday in the NE10 Championship.

Southern New Hampshire's Magdalena Hubickova took home NE10 Rookie of the Year honors, following an 8-2 record at No. 1 singles this season. She also was First Team All-Conference at No. 1 doubles and Second Team at No. 1 singles in a sensational freshman campaign, which landed her on the All-Rookie Team.

SNHU's Greg Coache was named NE10 Women's Tennis Coach of the Year, as he led the Penmen to an 11-1 overall record (9-1 NE10) and a share of the regular season title. The Penmen earned the No. 2 seed in the NE10 Championship, and thus received a bye into the league semifinals on Friday.

Four players earned multiple honors on the All-Conference First Team, including Quagliardi and her teammate Nicole Stay (No. 4 singles, No. 2 doubles). SNHU's Isabella Andrade (No. 5 singles, No. 3 doubles) and Elizabeth Dwyer (No. 6 singles, No. 3 doubles), a doubles team for the Penmen, also earned two First Team nods apiece.

Adelphi and SNHU each had four players on the First Team – the most of all NE10 programs. For the All-Rookie Team, 12 players were selected, including a league-high three from both Franklin Pierce and SNHU.

The NE10 Women's Tennis Championship begins on Wednesday with First Round action, as No. 3 Stonehill hosts No. 6 New Haven – while No. 4 Le Moyne welcomes No. 5 Franklin Pierce. For the full schedule and all other championship information, click HERE.

The NE10 Player of the Year award is named in honor of former longtime Springfield College head coach Vern Cox. All-Conference selections are based on record at a given flight and a minimum number of matches that must be played in order to be eligible.




Vern Cox Player of the Year
Barbie Quagliardi – Adelphi

Rookie of the Year
Magdalena Hubickova – SNHU

Coach of the Year
Greg Coache - SNHU

First Team
No. 1 Singles – Barbie Quagliardi (ADE)
No. 2 Singles – Alexandra Vo (STO)
No. 3 Singles – Steffi Antao (STO)
No. 4 Singles – Nicole Stay (ADE)/Emma Markaryan (STO)
No. 5 Singles – Isabella Andrade (SNHU)
No. 6 Singles – Elizabeth Dwyer (SNHU)
No. 1 Doubles – Barbie Quagliardi/Nicole Kielan (ADE), Alexxa Etienne/Magdalena Hubickova (SNHU)
No. 2 Doubles – Amanda Franstedt/Nicole Stay (ADE)
No. 3 Doubles – Isabella Andrade/Elizabeth Dwyer (SNHU)

Second Team
No. 1 Singles – Magdalena Hubickova (SNHU)/Cristina Solorzano Valencia (STO)
No. 2 Singles – Nicole Kielan (ADE)/Liria Loria (FPU)
No. 3 Singles – Laura Alvarez Tello (FPU)
No. 4 Singles – Kacie Banks (UNH)
No. 5 Singles – Ana Escudero (ASM)
No. 6 Singles – Brooke Fernandez (LEM)
No. 1 Doubles – Liria Loria/Himani Mor (FPU)
No. 2 Doubles – Cristina Solorzano Valencia/Annelise Howick (STO)
No. 3 Doubles – Ana Escudero/Veronica Op (ASM)

Third Team
No. 1 Singles – Birdem Oz (LEM)
No. 2 Singles – Marta Nunez (LEM)
No. 3 Singles – Francesca Lilliegren (LEM)
No. 4 Singles – Rebecca Peters (LEM)
No. 5 Singles – Lea Baschanow (ADE)
No. 6 Singles – Jazmin Flood (FPU)
No. 1 Doubles – Samantha Ormesher/Isabelle Porter (STO)
No. 2 Doubles – Laura Alvarez Tello/Jazmin Flood (FPU)
No. 3 Doubles – Steffi Antao/Caroline Ray (STO)

All-Rookie Team
Amanda Franstedt – Adelphi
Mikaela Johnson – AIC
Jazmin Flood – Franklin Pierce
Liria Loria – Franklin Pierce
Laura Alvarez Tello – Franklin Pierce
Francesca Lilliegren – Le Moyne
Kacie Banks – New Haven
Isabella Andrade - SNHU
Maggie Hubickova – SNHU
Selin Seyfettinoglu – SNHU
Steffi Antao – Stonehill
Cristina Solorzano Valencia - Stonehill

The NE10 is an association of 14 diverse institutions serving student-athletes across 24 NCAA Division II sports. Together we build brilliant futures by embracing the journey of every student-athlete.

Each year, 4,500 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 24 sports, making the NE10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the NE10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.